Department of Music, Theatre, and Dance Faculty/Staff


Department Chair
Danny Phipps
 (phippsda@gvsu.edu)

Associate Department Chair, Associate Professor of Trombone
Mark Williams (willima1@gvsu.edu)

Assistant Chair for Curriculum and Music Education Studies, Associate Professor of Music Education
Beth Gibbs (gibbsb@gvsu.edu)

Assistant Chair for Accreditation and Assessment, Associate Professor of Saxophone
Dan Graser (graserd@gvsu.edu)

Assistant Chair for Development, Professor of Clarinet
Arthur Campbell (campbela@gvsu.edu)

Office Coordinator
Kristi Fosdick (fosdickk@gvsu.edu)

Department Secretary
Charlyn Worthem (worthemc@gvsu.edu)

Department Secretary/Receptionist
Colleen Bazuin (bazuinc@gvsu.edu)

Publicity and Recruitment Coordinator 
Bridgett Vanderhoof (vandebri@gvsu.edu)

Equipment & Performance Space Supervisor
Chris Mahlmann (mahlmanc@gvsu.edu)

Equipment & Performance Space Technician
Nathaniel Bliton
 (blitonn@gvsu.edu)

Costume Supervisor 
Jill Hamilton  (hamiltoj@gvsu.edu)

Costume Technician
Cat O'Callahan (ocallahc@gvsu.edu)

James Bell (bellja@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor of Theatre, Theatre Curriculum Coordinator
Roger Ellis (ellisr@gvsu.edu), Professor of Theatre
Jill Hamilton (hamiltoj@gvsu.edu), Costume Supervisor
Karen Libman (libmank@gvsu.edu), Professor of Theatre
Allison Manville Metz (metza@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor of Theatre
Alfred Sheffield (sheffiea@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor of Theatre
Bridgett Vanderhoof (vandbrid@gvsu.edu), Part-time Faculty

Carrie Brueck Morris (morrcarr@gvsu.edu) Associate Professor
Hannah Seidel (seidelh@gvsu.edu) Assistant Professor
Shelby Chambers  (chambshe@gvsu.edu Part-time Professor
EunKyung Chung
Dawnell Dryja Black
Deavondre Jones
Alexandra Meister-Upleger

Rachel Miller (millerr5@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor
Heather Mitchell
Nicole Reehorst

Alex Hamel (hamelal@gvsu.edu), Dance Musician
Ryan Blok (blokryan@gvsu.edu) Dance Musician

 





 

Music Faculty

Mark Williams (willima1@gvsu.edu), Trombone, Assistant Chair & Associate Professor
Paul Carlson (carlsopa@gvsu.edu), Tuba, Assistant Professor
Alex Wilson (wilsoal1@gvsu.edu), Trumpet, Assistant Professor
Richard Britsch (britschr@gvsu.edu), Horn, Affiliate Professor

Kody Wallace (wallacko@gvsu.edu) Director of Choral Activities, Assistant Professor of Voice, Conductor of University Arts Chorale and Cantate Chamber Ensemble
Charles Norris (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Director of Varsity Men, Professor
Shirley Lemon (lemons@gvsu.edu), Conductor of University Singers and Select Women's Ensemble

Kyle Thompson (thompsk6@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

Kevin Tutt (tuttk@gvsu.edu), Professor, Conductor of Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Henry Duitman (duitmanh@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Conductor of Symphony Orchestra
Pablo Mahave-Veglia (mahavep@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Director of Early Music Ensemble
Bill Ryan (ryanwi@gvsu.edu), Professor, Director of New Music Ensemble
John T. Martin (marjohnt@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Director of Concert Band & University Band
Tim Froncek (froncekt@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor, Director of Jazz Ensembles

Tim Froncek (froncekt@gvsu.edu) Affiliate Professor
Michael T. Drost (drostm@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor
James Sawyer (sawyejam@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor

John T. Martin (marjohnt@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Director of Athletic Bands
Ted Craig (craigte@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor
Rebecca Sikkema (hetjonre@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor-Color Guard
Kyle Morse (morseky1@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

Barry Martin (martinb@gvsu.edu), Professor
Charles Norris (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Professor
Kevin Tutt (tuttk@gvsu.edu), Professor
Beth Gibbs (gibbsb@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor & Coordinator of Student Services
John Martin (marjohnt@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Patty Gordon (gordonpa@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

Gregory Crowell (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Paul Swantek (swantekp@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Andrew Bergeron (bergeroa@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor
Jack DeBoer (debojack@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor
Samuel Gould (goulds1@gvsu.edu) Part-time Professor
Kimberly Veenstra (veenstki@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

Tim Froncek (froncekt@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Greg Secor (secorg@gvsu.edu), Part-time Professor

Helen Marlais (marlaish@gvsu.edu), Piano, Piano Pedagogy, Associate Professor
Sookkyung Cho (choso@gvsu.edu), Piano, Associate Professor
Gregory Crowell (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Harpsichord and Organ, Affiliate Professor

Pablo Mahave-Veglia (mahavep@gvsu.edu), Cello, Associate Professor
Paul Swantek (swantekp@gvsu.edu), Viola, Affiliate Professor
Megan Crawford (crawfom1@gvsu.edu), Violin, Visiting Professor
Michael Hovnanian (hovnanim@gvsu.edu), Bass, Part-time Professor

Dale Schriemer (schriemd@gvsu.edu), Professor, Director of Opera Theatre
Kathryn Stieler (stielerk@gvsu.edu), Professor
Robert Byrens (byrensr@gvsu.edu), Vocal Coach/Accompanist, Affiliate Professor
Brendan Hollins (hollinsb@gvsu.edu) Opera Theatre, Part-time Professor
Rachael Bergan Gates (berganr@gvsu.edu) Music/Vocal Adjunct Professor
Corie Auger (augerc@gvsu.edu) Music/Vocal Adjunct Professor

Arthur Campbell (campbela@gvsu.edu), Clarinet, Professor
Marlen Vavrikova (vavrikom@gvsu.edu), Oboe, Associate Professor
Christopher Kantner (kantnerc@gvsu.edu), Flute, Affiliate Professor
Dan Graser ( graserd@gvsu.edu), Saxophone, Assistant Professor
Victoria Olson (olsonvic@gvsu.edu) Bassoon, Part-time Professor
Gary June (junega@gvsu.edu) Clarinet, Part-time Professor