Now accepting nominations for Gordon Olson Award

January 09, 2017

Now accepting nominations for Gordon Olson Award

We are now accepting nominations for the 4th Gordon Olson Award. 

Do you know someone who has made outstanding contributions to local history? Someone who has used history to give voice to diverse communities? Please consider nominating them for the Kutsche Office of Local History’s 2017 Gordon Olson Award. Nominations will be accepted through February 19, 2017

Established in 2014, the Gordon Olson Award will be given to one individual each year. Named in honor of Gordon Olson, former Grand Rapids City Historian, whose books, leadership, programming, mentorship, and advocacy have inspired generations of West Michigan residents, the award is intended to recognize individuals whose work embodies the Kutsche Office’s mission, “Using history to give voice to diverse communities.” The award is announced at the Annual Local History Roundtable. Recipients are given a commemorative plaque and are recognized through Kutsche Office publicity and local news media.

Please complete this form to nominate and feel free to contact us with any questions. or 616-331-8099.

2016 award was given to Carl Bajema. Finalists for the award included Jeff Smith and John McGarry.
2015 award was given to Sook Wilkinson. Finalists for the award included Cindy Laug and Lori Shusta.

View More News

Page last modified January 9, 2017