Click here to download a PDF version of this tutorial.
If a file gets deleted or overwritten by mistake, you may be able to recover it by using the Restore previous versions feature of Windows 7, here is how to do this.
Warning: The file or folder will replace the current version on your computer, and the replacement cannot be undone. If you want to keep the current version, you should perform a 'Save as..' and rename the file so that it the original does not get over-written.
Note: If the Restore button isn't available, you can't restore a previous version of the file or folder to its original location. However, you might be able to open it or save it to a different location.