Skip to main content

A. Scott Rood

A. Scott Rood

Assistant Department Chair and Assistant Professor
Department of Hospitality & Tourism Management

208C DeVos Center
Grand Valley State University
401 W. Fulton Street
Grand Rapids, MI 49504

TEL: (616) 331-8712
FAX: (616) 331-3115

HTM 235 - Tourism and Recreation Management
HTM 495 - Hospitality Management (Capstone)

Professor Rood has entrepreneurial experience in many facets of the industry. He worked as General Manager, Operating Partner and Area Manager in the commercial recreation sector. He has owned and managed various Big Apple Bagels cafe locations. Scott has experience in the regulatory side of the industry serving on the State of Michigan's Carnival and Amusement Safety Board; and experience with destination marketing organizations, as Vice President of the Grand Haven Visitor's Bureau.  He is a former President of the Resort and Commercial Recreation Association and a former Council Member for the City of Norton Shores, MI.

B.S. in Political Science and American Studies, University of Michigan
M.P.A in Public Administration, Central Michigan University

He joined GVSU in 2005, after having been an adjunct instructor at three institutions. He holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan and an MPA from Central Michigan University, and took additional M.Div. and Ph.D. graduate coursework.

Professor Rood is co-founder and Administrator of the "Journal of Tourism Insights".  He has been the author or co-author of twelve published peer-reviewed primary research manuscripts since 2010. His research has been published in "European Journal of Tourism, Hospitality and Recreation", "Journal of Foodservice Business Research", "Current Issues in Tourism", "Managing Leisure", "Journal of Quality Assurance in Hospitality and Tourism", "Journal of Tourism Insights", and "Problemy Jakosci".

  • Scott serves on the Board of Directors of the Resort and Commercial Recreation Association (RCRA): (positions include Member At Large, Secretary, President-Elect, President and Past-President).  He is the recipient of six different awards from RCRA since 2008.