Skip to main content

GV Now

Niemeyer award recipients named

  • Paul Isely and Deborah Herrington were recognized at the annual awards celebration April 7.

Posted on April 24, 2014

Students and faculty members were recognized for their leadership at the annual awards celebration in early April.

Deborah Herrington, associate professor of chemistry, and Paul Isely, professor of economics, were each named Niemeyer Award Winners. Named for former Provost Glenn A. Niemeyer, faculty recipients of the award are honored for their excellence and loyalty to teaching, scholarship and service.

Herrington co-founded the Target Inquiry program, an innovative professional development program designed to improve the quality and frequency of inquiry-based instruction in middle and high school science classes.

Isely serves as a West Michigan expert in many facets of the economy. Policy makers at the city, county and state levels have shown that they value his work by appointing him to government committees exploring policies.

Two undergraduate students received Niemeyer awards: Katherine Braspenninx, a senior majoring in nursing; and Danielle Meirow, a double-major in women and gender studies and biomedical sciences who is enrolled in the Honors College.

Jennifer Bowling, a doctor of nursing practice candidate, earned the Niemeyer award for graduate students.

Recent Articles

more articles