The Graduate Student Celebration

GSA Awards

The Graduate Student Celebration will be held from 5 pm till 7:30 pm on April 17, 2015. Nominations were due to by Friday, April 3 at 5 pm. Forms can be downloaded below:

Grand Valley State University Graduate Faculty & Staff Award for Mentorship:

All graduate and professional students within 2 semesters of earning a graduate degree are invited to give their support to faculty or staff members that they feel deserve special recognition for exemplary behavior. Students and faculty are invited to attend the Graduate Student Celebration and Awards Ceremony on December 5, 2014 at the Loosemore Auditorium. The award for mentorship will be presented at this time. 

The Kimboko Award:

The Graduate Student Association has created the Kimboko Award to recognize Grand Valley faculty who have made significant contributions in outstanding teaching, distinctive scholarship or creative work, or noteworthy service in moving GVSU graduate education toward being a more diverse and inclusive community. The award recognizes the accomplishments of Dr. Priscilla Kimboko, GVSU’s first Dean of Graduate Studies, and represents her commitment to these values.

Winter 2014 Recipients


  • Dr. Aaron Lowen, Associate Professor of Economics, Seidman College of Business
  • Dr. Amy Schelling, Assistant Professor of Special Education, College of Education


  • Dr. Cynthia Coviak, Professor of Nursing, Kirkhof College of Nursing

Please visit The Office of Graduate Studies website to read more about past recipients.

Join GSA!

Page last modified October 29, 2015