Fall Arts Celebration 2018 schedule will be live June 25, 2018. Please check back after that time for updated information. Feel free to browse our 2017 events or call (616) 331.2185 with questions.


An Evening of Poetry and Conversation with Jane Hirshfield and Dan Gerber

Thursday, October 26, 7:30 PM
L.V. Eberhard Center, Second Floor
Robert C. Pew Grand Rapids Campus

Reading followed by book signing and reception

Jane Hirshfield has authored many collections of poetry and prose, including most recently, The Beauty (longlisted for the National Book Award); Come Thief; After (shortlisted for England’s T.S. Eliot Prize and named a “best book of 2006” by The Washington Post, the San Francisco Chronicle, and the London Financial Times); Given Sugar, Given Salt (finalist for the 2001 National Book Critics Circle Award); The Lives of the Heart; and The October Palace.

In fall 2004, Hirshfield was awarded the 70th Academy Fellowship for distinguished poetic achievement by The Academy of American Poets, an honor formerly held by such poets as Robert Frost, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, and Elizabeth Bishop. In 2012, she was elected a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.

Dan Gerber is the author of a dozen books of poetry, fiction, essays, and memory. His most recent book of poems was Sailing through Cassiopeia, and he celebrates the publication of Particles: New & Selected Poems this fall from Copper Canyon Press. His work has received ForeWord Magazine’s Gold Medal Award, a Mark Twain award for distinguished contribution to Midwest literature, a Michigan Author Award plus a Michigan Notable Book Award. He is the co-founder, with the late Jim Harrison, of the literary magazine Sumac, and lives in the Santa Ynez Valley of California.

Jane Hirshfield and Dan Gerber

Jane Hirshfield, Dan Gerber

Hirshfield photo courtesy of Curt Richter

Page last modified March 12, 2018