Blackboard: Managing Course File Quotas

The Content Collection is a repository of all the files in your Blackboard course which are uploaded into a content area. When deleting a content item with files attached, the actual files are not deleted but are stored in the Content Collection.

When uploading a new version of the same file, the new file is appended with a number and the old file remains.


Viewing Course Files

  1. Click Content Collection under the course Control Panel
  2. Click the Course ID of the course (eg. GVLIB100.01.201920)

Course Content Collection-Click Course ID of current course


Check Which Files are Currently Used in Course

Blackboard can generate a list which tells you which files are "linked" to an item in a content area and may therefore be visible to students.

  1. If not already in the Course Content Area, click Content Collection then click on the Course ID of the course (if you followed the steps above, you should still be on the Course Content screen)
  2. Click the menu button (down arrow) next to the name of a file
  3. Click 360° View
  4. Scroll to the "Links" section

Options menu next to the name of a file

  1. If there is a content item link to the file within the course, an item will appear listed in the "Links" Section

Links in course related to the file

  1. If there are no content items using the file, "No links available" will be displayed

No links available under the links section

Note: If an item does not have an Ally symbol for accessibility, it is either not tied to a content item or it is a file type Ally does not process (i.e. Excel) which makes an easy way to see items not tied to content items.


Delete Course Files

  1. If not already in the Course Content Area, click Content Collection then click on the Course ID of the course (if you followed the steps above, you should still be on the Course Content screen)
  2. Click the menu button (down arrow) next to the name of the file to delete
  3. Click Delete

Delete option for a file