University Assessment Committee

Meeting Date: Jan. 6, 2020

Time: 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Room: 117E DEV



2019-20 UAC Members

Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies

Cáel Keegan, WGS Studies (W20)

College of Community & Public Service

Scott Berlin, School of Social Work (18-21)

Tina Yalda, School of Criminal Justice (18-20)

College of Education

Wei Gu, Teaching & Learning (18-21)

Greg Warsen, Ed. Leadership & Counseling (19-22)

College of Health Professions

Denise Ludwig, Communication Sciences (19-22)

Libby MacQuillan, Allied Health Sciences (18-21)

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Paul Carlson, Music, Theatre and Dance (18-20)

Katherine Corker, Psychology (W20)*

*W20 replacement for Carolyn Shapiro (17-20)

Haiying Kong, Communications (17-20)

Jon Hasenbank, Mathematics (19-22) (Chair)

Julie Henderleiter, Chemistry (18-21) (VC/Chair-Elect)

Michael Henshaw, Biology (19-22)

Janel Pettes Guikema, Modern Lang. & Lit. (19-20)

Al Sheffield; Music, Theatre, and Dance (18-20)

Unfilled CLAS Seat #1* (W20)

*W20 replacement for Faye Yang (18-21)

Unfilled CLAS Seat #2

Unfilled CLAS Seat #3

(bold, in attendance; italics, notified absence)

Kirkhof College of Nursing

Sue Harrington, Nursing (18-21)

Padnos College of Engineering and Computing

Sung-hwan Joo, Sch. of Engineering*

*AY replacement for Chris Pung (18-20)

Greg Schymik, Computing & Info. Services (19-22)

Seidman College of Business

Sonia Dalmia, Economics (17-20)

Anne Sergeant, School of Accounting (18-21)

Service Unit / Co-Curricular Units

Colleen Lindsay-Bailey, Housing & Res. Life (17-20)

Kelly McDonell, Honors College Advising (18-21)

Susan Mendoza, Director: Office of UR & S (18-21)

Mike Saldana, CHP Academic Advising (18-21)

Betty Schaner, Assistant Dean, Adv. & Ss Serv. (19-22)

Kate Stoetzner, Padnos International Center (19-22)

University Libraries Representative

Kristin Meyer, University Libraries (17-20)

Student Senate Representatives:

Damaris Crocker DeRuiter (Graduate)

TBA (Undergrad)

Ex Officio (Office of the Provost):

Chris Plouff, AVP for SPAA

Taylor Boyd, SPAA Assessment Specialist Christina Lunn, SPAA Graduate Practicum Experience

Agenda:

1) Arrivals and pre-meeting review of the Minutes (3:00 - 3:10).

Meeting will be called to order at 3:10 p.m.

- a) Meeting called to order at 3:13.
- 2) Introductions and welcome incoming members
 - a) Katie and Cáel were welcomed
- 3) Approval of minutes from 12/2/19 (attachment B)
 - a) Minutes were approved as posted.
- 4) Report from the Chair
 - a) Midyear report to ECS (attachment C)
 - i) Jon gave a status update and summary of the midyear report provided to ECS.
 - ii) There is nothing specific about new strategic planning; self-studies will happen in some format, possibly next year.
- 5) Report from the Provost's Office
 - a) Initial Accreditation Report for Doctor of Audiology is coming up next week

- b) Noteworthy from this week—we have selected faculty fellows. Chasity Bailey-Fakhoury will be working with Chris' office and, ultimately, UAC. We will start preparing for the next HLC review in Fall 2020 ahead of 4-year review in Fall of 2022. The faculty fellows come out of the "You Lead" initiative from ECS.
- 6) Assessment reviews for W20:
 - a) Review team assignments
 - i) Log into Bb and check that each assigned report (SP, AP) are populated.
 - ii) Let Jon know before the end of the meeting if something seems missing.
 - iii) Begin to plan your work.
 - iv) UAC is 3 seats short this semester, CLAS is missing 3 seats.
 - b) W20 workflow discussion
 - c) Asynchronous collaboration and work time
 - i) Groups left as they verified their reports were available and checked in with Jon.
- 7) Adjournment

Team 0	Team 1	Team 2	Team 3	Team 4	Team 5	Team 6
(12) Julie Henderleiter- CLAS-CHM	(16) Greg Schymik-PCEC- CIS	(15) Anne Sergeant-SCB- Acct	(14) Sonia Dalmia-SCB- Econ	(15) Sue Harrington- KCON	(15) Scott Berlin-CCPS- SoSW	(17) Colleen Bailey-Housing
(13) Jon Hasenbank- CLAS-MTH	(17) Haiying Kong-CLAS- Comm	(18) Tina Yalda-CCPS-CJ	(18) Libby MacQuillan- CHP-AHS	(18) Al Sheffield-CLAS- MTD	(19) Mike Henshaw- CLAS-Bio	(18) Kelly McDonell- BCOIS-HON
(17) Kristin Meyer-UL	(18) Paul Carlson-CLAS- MTD	(19) Greg Warsen-COE- Ed.L	(18) Wei Gu- COE-T&L	(19) Denise Ludwig-CHP- ComS	(19) Janel Pettes Guikema, CLAS-MLL	(18) Susan Mendoza- OURS
	(W20) Cáel Keegan, BCOIS-WGS	(19) Sung- Hwan Joo- PCEC-SoE		(W20) Katie Corker-CLAS- PSY		(19) Kate Stoetzner, PIC
						(19) Betty Schaner-CLAS- AD
					Student rep: Demaris Crocker DeRuiter	(15) Mike Saldana-CHP- Advising