Emeritus Faculty and Staff of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Chester Alkema of Art & Design

Daniel Andersen of Physics

Carl Arendsen of Mathematics

Richard Atkinson of Chemistry*

Sandi Bacon, Director Emerita of Laboratory Support.

Carl Bajema of Biology

John H. Baker of Physics*

Mary Ellen Barber of Mathematics

John Batchelder of Political Science*

William Baum of Political Science*

William Bell of Biomed/Health Science*

David Bernstein of Psychology

Fredrick Bevis of Biology*

Roelof Bijkerk of Psychology

James Blakey of Psychology*

Joan Boand of Physical Education

Robert Burns of School of Communications*

Johnine Callahan of Biomedical/Health Science

Frederick Chapman of School of Communications*

Linda Chown of English

Edward Cole of History

Brian Curry of Biomedical/Health Sci

Gilbert Davis of English

Arthur DeLong of Psychology*

Dennis Devlin of History

Ronald Dwelle of Writing

Leslie Eitzen of Music

Walter Foote of English

Ursula Franklin of Modern Languages & Literatures

H. Weldon Frase of Psychology*

Catherine Frerichs of Writing

Mary Catherine Gardner of Mathematics

John Gracki of Chemistry

Paul Grishke of Music

Donald Hall of Physics

Thomas E. Hendrix of Geology

Arthur Hills of Music*

David Huisman of English

Paul Huizenga of Biology

Carl Insalaco of Psychology*

Charles Irwin of Physical Education*

Allvar Jacobson of Anthropology*

Harry Jellema of Philosophy*

Jon Jellema, English

Jacqueline Johnson of Sociology

Constance Jones of English

Curtis Jones of Sociology

Robert Junn of Political Science*

Donald Kerr of Art & Design*

Georgianna Klein of Mathematics/Stats

Gary Klingler of Mathematics

Carol Kountz of Writing

Charles Knop of Chemistry*

Daniel Kovats of Music*

Norman Leeling of Biology

Richard Lefebvre of Geology*

William Levitan of Classics

John Lucke of Geology*

George MacDonald of Physical Ed/Rec*

Lynn Mapes of History

Robert Mayberry of School of Communications*

Frances McCrea of Sociology

Betty McGhee of Psychology

Carl R. Meloy of Chemistry*

Daleene Menning of Art & Design

Dorothy Merrill of Health Sciences*

Karen Meyers, Director Emerita of the Regional Math and Science Center

Deanna Morse of the School of Communications

Virginia Muraski of Mathematics/Computer Science

Rosalyn Muskovitz of Art & Design

William J. Neal of Geology

Glenn A. Niemeyer of History (also Provost)

M. Christine O'Connor of Psychology

William Osborn of English

Nathalie Ostroot of Sociology

Michael Ott of Sociology

Eileen Pare of Chemistry

Anthony Parise of English*

Richard E. Paschke of Psychology

Ronald Poitras of GPY/Urban Planning

Philip J. Pratt of Mathematics

Joseph P. Preston of History      

David Rathbun of School of Communications     

Gary Richmond of Chemistry     

Pedro Rivera-Muniz of Mathematics/Statistics  

Karel Rogers of Biology 

Patricia Rowe of Movement Science      

Linda Rynbrandt of Sociology     

Doris Rucks of Sociology*

Louis Rus of English*                                             

Laura Salazar of School of Communications         

James Scott of Movement Science         

Mary Seeger of Modern Languages & Literatures            

Wilhelm Seeger  of Modern Languages & Literatures       

Mary Ann Sheline of RMSC

John Shontz of Biology 

Janet Shroyer of Mathematics  

Roberta Simone of English          

Gary Stark of History/Associate Dean    

Howard Stein of Biology*

James Strickland of Physics         

Theodore Sundstrom of Mathematics

David Tanis of Chemistry             

Norman Ten Brink of Geology   

John Tevebaugh of History*         

Anthony Travis of History            

Veta Tucker of English  

Lois Tyson of English      

Kathleen Underwood of History              

Jill VanAntwerp of English           

Donald  VanderJagt of Mathematics*

Ronald  Ward of Annis Water Resource Institute              

Irving Wasserman of Philosophy               *

Loretta Wasserman of English*

Robert Watson of English            

Helen Westra of English               

Sharon K. Whitehill of English    

Donald  Williams of Sociology     

Ralph Wiltse of  Mathematics/Computer Science*


Link to GVSU Retiree Connection

Do you have an update to share on one of the Emeritus Professors listed here?  E-mail us.

A retired faculty member of the university who has made a significant contribution to the university through a reasonable period of service is eligible for emeritus status. The president's recommendation to the Board of Trustees is made after consultation with the Dean, colleagues and vice-president.

Emeriti are listed in the university catalog, invited to attend meetings (ex officio), eligible to use library facilities, receive publications, participate in commencement, and are encouraged to continue an active role in the university.

CLAS is very proud of the rich contributions to teaching, scholarship, and service of its emeriti.

Page last modified April 9, 2018