Advisory Board

The Police Academy Advisory Board consists of local law enforcement executives, criminal justice professionals, and academic representatives. The board makes recommendations regarding the screening process, student evaluation, and academy policy. It reviews, evaluates, and makes recommendations on the approved program and all proposed enhanced curriculum. Additionally, representatives from board member agencies participate in the candidate interview and selection process.



Chief Catherine Garcia-Lindstrom
~ Chairperson ~ Walker Police Department Sheriff Gary Rosema
Ottawa County Sheriff's Office
Captain Jack Dykstra ~ Assistant Chairperson ~ Holland Department of Public Safety Undersheriff Steve Kempker
Ottawa County Sheriff's Office
Chief Thomas Hillen Kentwood Police Department Captain Eric Payne
Grand Rapids Police Department
Undersheriff Michelle Young Kent County Sheriff's Office Chief Steve Bukala Lowell Police Department
Sheriff Blaine Koops
Allegan County Sheriff's Office Director Jodi Richhart
Grand Rapids CC Police Academy
Chief Jeff Hawke Grand Haven Department of Public Safety Deputy Chief Paul Anglim Grandville Police Department
Chief Jon Gale
Norton Shores Police Department Dr. John Walsh
Faculty, GVSU School of Criminal Justice
Chief Renee Freeman
Grand Valley State University DPS Captain Dennis Lord Muskegon Police Department

Page last modified September 21, 2015