Current Graduate Students

Nicholas Albrecht

Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: Muskegon River juvenile steelhead survival and production

albrenic@mail.gvsu.edu
Deb Dila

Advisors: Bopi Biddanda
and Ryan Thum
Research: Microbial diversity and community composition along a land-to-lake gradient

debdila@gmail.com
Leon Gereaux

Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Earth's eyes: a time-series lake observatory for tracking ecosystem change

gereauxl@mail.gvsu.edu

Bryan Giordano

Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: Au Sable River brown trout telemetry study

giordanb@mail.gvsu.edu

Brandon Harris

Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Lake sturgeon in the Muskegon River, Michigan

harribra@mail.gvsu.edu

Nicole Horne

Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Characterization of the structure and function of biofilm in the Biosand water filtration system

hornen@mail.gvsu.edu

Syndell Parks

Advisor: Ryan Thum
Research: Evaluating the role of phytoene desaturase mutations in reduced fluridone sensitivity in watermilfoil

syndell.parks@gmail.com

Lindsey Schulte

Advisor: Ryan Thum
Research: Herbicide resistance in hybrid watermilfoil

schullin@mail.gvsu.edu

Meagan Sesselmann

Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Estimating lake metabolism using the free water method and a 1-D hydrodynamic model

sesselmm@mail.gvsu.edu

John Skutnik

Advisor: Kevin Strychar
Research: Identifying the effect of climate change on mesophotic scleractinian coral

skutnikj@mail.gvsu.edu

James Smit

Advisor: Al Steinman
Research: Nutrient fluxes from sediment due to hydrologic reconnection and climate change

smitja@mail.gvsu.edu

Michael Snider

Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Pigments and physiology of cyanobacterial mats that are analogs of early Earth

snidemic@mail.gvsu.edu

Sarah Stamann

Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: Population dynamics and toxin production in Gloeotrichia echinulata

stamanns@mail.gvsu.edu

Jessica (Comben) Wesolek

Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Genetic structure of yellow perch populations: drowned river mouths vs. Lake Michigan

jncomben@gmail.com

 

Page last modified October 14, 2013