Current Graduate Students

Greg Chorak

Greg Chorak
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Yellow perch stock assessment in drowned river mouth lakes and nearshore Lake Michigan
chorakg@mail.gvsu.edu

Delilah Clement

Delilah Clement
Advisor: Alan Steinman
Research: The importance of dissolved phosphorus in the Lake Macatawa watershed
delilahclement@gmail.com

Travis Ellens

Travis Ellens
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: The role of mottled sculpin in stream food webs
travisellens@gmail.com

Nick Gezon

Nick Gezon
Advisor: Kevin Strychar
Research: Viral Ecology of the Great Lakes
gezonn@mail.gvsu.edu

Benjamin Giffin

Benjamin Giffin
Advisor: Charlyn Partridge
Research: Methods of Determining Live versus Dead Bacteria Using qPCR
giffinb@mail.gvsu.edu

Tori Harris

Tori Harris
Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: The effects of mill debris on benthic macroinvertebrates using suction sampling and genomic methods
harrisv@mail.gvsu.edu

Emily Kindervater

Emily Kindervater
Advisor: Al Steinman
Research: Wetland restoration
kinderve@mail.gvsu.edu

Suse LaGory

Suse LaGory
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Ecology of west Michigan stream fishes
lagorys@mail.gvsu.edu

Jason Lorenz

Jason Lorenz
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Lake Sturgeon response to restored spawning habitat into the Kalamazoo River
lorenjas@mail.gvsu.edu

Meagan McPherson

Meagan Sesselmann
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Estimating lake metabolism using the free water method and a 1-D hydrodynamic model
sesselmm@mail.gvsu.edu

Rajesh Sigdel

Rajesh Sigdel
Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: Watershed management of Grand River
sigdelr@mail.gvsu.edu

Justin Wegner

Justin Wegner
Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: Brook trout behavioral thermoregulation and microhabitat selection
wegnerju@mail.gvsu.edu

Tony Weinke

Tony Weinke
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Analysis of Muskegon Lake Buoy Observatory data for the relationship between wind mixing events and bottom water hypoxia
weinkea@mail.gvsu.edu

Graeme Zaparzynski

Graeme Zaparzynski
Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: The growth and bioenergetics of brook trout in a small Michigan stream.
zaparzyg@mail.gvsu.edu

Jay Zuidema

Jay Zuidema
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Estimating components of lake metabolism using a multi-level free water dissolved oxygen approach
zuidejay@mail.gvsu.edu