Current Graduate Students

Nick Albrecht

Nicholas Albrecht
Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: Muskegon River juvenile steelhead survival and production
albrenic@mail.gvsu.edu
 

Deb Dila

Deb Dila
Advisors: Bopi Biddanda and Ryan Thum
Research: Microbial diversity and community composition along a land-to-lake gradient
debdila@gmail.com

Leon Gereaux

Leon Gereaux
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Earth's eyes: a time-series lake observatory for tracking ecosystem change
gereauxl@mail.gvsu.edu

Bryan Giordano

Bryan Giordano
Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: Au Sable River brown trout telemetry study
giordanb@mail.gvsu.edu

Brandon Harris

Brandon Harris
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Lake sturgeon in the Muskegon River, Michigan
harribra@mail.gvsu.edu

Nicole Horne

Nicole Horne
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Characterization of the structure and function of biofilm in the Biosand water filtration system
hornen@mail.gvsu.edu

Syndell Parks

Syndell Parks
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Evaluating the role of phytoene desaturase mutations in reduced fluridone sensitivity in watermilfoil
syndell.parks@gmail.com

Lindsey Schulte

Lindsey Schulte
Advisor:Jim McNair
Research: Herbicide resistance in hybrid watermilfoil
schullin@mail.gvsu.edu

Meagan McPherson

Meagan Sesselmann
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Estimating lake metabolism using the free water method and a 1-D hydrodynamic model
sesselmm@mail.gvsu.edu

John Skutnik

John Skutnik
Advisor: Kevin Strychar
Research: Identifying the effect of climate change on mesophotic scleractinian coral
skutnikj@mail.gvsu.edu

James Smit

James Smit
Advisor: Al Steinman
Research: Nutrient fluxes from sediment due to hydrologic reconnection and climate change
smitja@mail.gvsu.edu

Michael Snider

Michael Snider
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda Research: Pigments and physiology of cyanobacterial mats that are analogs of early Earth
snidemic@mail.gvsu.edu

Sarah Stamann

Sarah Stamann
Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: Population dynamics and toxin production in Gloeotrichia echinulata
stamanns@mail.gvsu.edu

Jessica Wesolek

Jessica (Comben) Wesolek
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Genetic structure of yellow perch populations: drowned river mouths vs. Lake Michigan
jncomben@gmail.com