Skip to main content

Current Graduate Students

Barney Boyer

Barney Boyer
Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: Does the distribution and abundance of the New Zealand mudsnail alter the distribution and abundance of other macroinvertebrates in three western Michigan rivers?
boyerb@mail.gvsu.edu

Travis Ellens

Travis Ellens
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: The role of mottled sculpin in stream food webs
travisellens@gmail.com

Kaitlyn Emelander

Kaitlyn Emelander
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Occupancy modeling of yellow perch in Great Lakes coastal wetlands
emelandk@mail.gvsu.edu

Nick Gezon

Nick Gezon
Advisor: Kevin Strychar
Research: Viral ecology of the Great Lakes
gezonn@mail.gvsu.edu

Benjamin Giffin

Benjamin Giffin
Advisor: Charlyn Partridge
Research: Methods of determining live versus dead bacteria using qPCR
giffinb@mail.gvsu.edu

Tori Harris

Tori Harris
Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: The effects of mill debris on benthic macroinvertebrates using suction sampling and genomic methods
harrisv@mail.gvsu.edu

Emily Kindervater

Emily Kindervater
Advisor: Alan Steinman
Research: Phosphorus retention in West Michigan two-stage agricultural ditches
kinderve@mail.gvsu.edu

Paige Kleindl

Paige Kleindl
Advisor: Alan Steinman
Research: Macrophyte-epiphyte community dynamics within Muskegon Lake
kleindlp@mail.gvsu.edu

Katie Knapp

Katie Knapp
Advisor: Bopi Biddanda
Research: Estimating lake metabolism using the Muskegon Lake Observatory
knapkati@mail.gvsu.edu

Sarah Lamar

Sarah Lamar
Advisor: Charlyn Partridge
Research: Genetic analysis of baby's breath (Gypsophila paniculata) populations over time
lamars@mail.gvsu.edu

Molly Lane

Molly Lane
Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: Comparison of Colilert and qPCR methods for monitoring Lake Michigan beaches in Muskegon County
lanemol@mail.gvsu.edu

Jason Lorenz

Jason Lorenz
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Lake sturgeon response to restored spawning habitat into the Kalamazoo River
lorenjas@mail.gvsu.edu

Alan Mock

Alan Mock
Advisor: Carl Ruetz
Research: Evaluating remote site incubators for the re-introduction of arctic grayling
mocka@mail.gvsu.edu

Dan Myers

Dan Myers
Advisor: Rick Rediske
Research: Estimating sediment yield of eroding stream channel using multiple techniques
myersda@mail.gvsu.edu

Kim Oldenborg

Kim Oldenborg
Advisor: Alan Steinman
Research: Phosphorus dynamics and hydrological modeling in restored flow through wetlands, formally agricultural land
oldenbok@mail.gvsu.edu

Hailee Pavisich

Hailee Pavisich
Advisor: Charlyn Partridge
Research: Genetic analysis of the spread of baby's breath (Gypsophila paniculata) populations in Northwest Michigan sand dunes
pavisich@mail.gvsu.edu

Andrew Pyman

Andrew Pyman
Advisor: Charlyn Partridge
Research: Development of rapid assessment methods for harmful algal blooms (HABs) using qPCR
pymana@mail.gvsu.edu

Emma Rice

Emma Rice
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Adaptive management of invasive baby's breath (Gypsophila paniculata) in coastal dune habitats of Northwest Michigan
riceemm@mail.gvsu.edu

Justin Wegner

Justin Wegner
Advisor: Mark Luttenton
Research: Brook trout behavioral thermoregulation and microhabitat selection
wegnerju@mail.gvsu.edu

Jay Zuidema

Jay Zuidema
Advisor: Jim McNair
Research: Estimating components of stream metabolism using the free water dissolved oxygen method
zuidejay@mail.gvsu.edu