Departmental Course Equivalency Advisors

This is a comprehensive list of Department Chairs for each major/minor offered at GVSU. Majors and minors are organized by College. 

College of Community and Public Service

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Hospitality and Tourism Management

Mike Sciarini

Email

sciarinm@gvsu.edu

241C DeVos Center

Criminal Justice, Legal Studies, Public and Nonprofit Administration, Social Work 

CCPS Advising Center

Email or submit in-person

ccpsadvisor@gvsu.edu

321C DeVos Center

College of Education

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Education

Sherie Williams

Email or submit in-person

willishe@gvsu.edu

465 C DeVos

Spanish Endorsement

Maria Fidalgo or Michael Vrooman

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

vroomanm@gvsu.eduor fidalgom@gvsu.edu

B-2-230 Mackinac Hall/ B-2-263 Mackinac Hall

College of Health Professions

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Allied Health Sciences (General)

Chad Sutliffe

Email or submit in-person

sutlifch@gvsu.edu

200 515 Michigan NE 

Cardiovascular  & Diagnostic Medical Sonography 

 Randy Wyble

Email or submit in-person

wybler@gvsu.edu

426 Cook - DeVos Center for Health Science

Health Information Management

Darlene Zwart

Email

zwartda@gvsu.edu

113 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Medical Laboratory Science

Darlene Zwart

Email

zwartda@gvsu.edu

113 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Prephysical Therapy

Dan Vaughn

Email or submit in-person

vaughnd@gvsu.edu

260 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences 

Prephysician Assistant Studies

 Andrew Booth

Email or submit in-person

bootha@gvsu.edu 

220 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences 

Radiation Therapy

Randy Wyble

Email or submit in-person

wybler@gvsu.edu

426 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Therapeutic Recreation

Scott Truskowski

Email or submit in person

truskows@gvsu.edu

252 Cook - DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Brooks College of Interdisciplinary Studies

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Human Rights

Richard Hiskes 

Email

hiskesr@gvsu.edu 

224 Lake Ontario Hall 

Digital Studies

Laurence José

Email

josel@gvsu.edu 

167 Lake Michigan Hall

Liberal Studies

Jen Jameslyn

Submit in-person

jameslyj@gvsu.edu

135 Lake Michigan Hall

Environmental Studies or Sustainable Food Systems Certificate

Kelly Parker

Email or submit in-person

parkerk@gvsu.edu 

B-3-200 Mackinac Hall

Intercultural Training Certificate

Melanie Shell-Weiss

Submit in-person

shellm@gvsu.edu

324 Lake Ontario Hall

Religious Studies

Brent Smith - Interim Coordinator

Email or submit in-person

smithbr@gvsu.edu

247 Lake Ontario Hall

Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies or LGBTQ Studies

Danielle Demuth

Email or submit in-person

demuthd@gvsu.edu

218 Lake Ontario Hall

African/African American Studies 

Louis Moore

Email

moorelou@gvsu.edu

105 Lake Ontario Hall

Chinese Studies or East Asian Studies

Jeremy Robinson

Email

robinjer@gvsu.edu

105 Lake Ontario Hall

Latin American and Latino/a Studies

David Stark

Email

starkd@gvsu.edu

105 Lake Ontario Hall

Middle East Studies

Sebastian Maisel

Email

maisels@gvsu.edu 

117 Lake Ontario Hall

Global Studies

Steeve Buckridge

Email

buckrids@gvsu.edu

105 Lake Ontario Hall

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Anthropology

Deana Weibel

Email or submit in-person

weibeld@gvsu.edu

1138 Au Sable Hall

Biology

Neil MacDonald

Submit in-person

macdonan@gvsu.edu

212 Henry Hall

Biomedical Sciences

Debra Burg

Email

burgd@gvsu.edu

221 Henry Hall

Cell & Molecular Biology

Mark Staves

Email or submit in-person

stavesm@gvsu.edu

211 Henry Hall

Chemistry

Deborah Herrington

Email

herringd@gvsu.edu

315 Padnos Hall 

Classics

Melissa Morison

Submit in-person

morisonm@gvsu.edu

265 Lake Huron Hall 

English

Corinna McLeod

Call English Department 616-331-3400 to make an appointment 

shannoas@gvsu.edu

230 Lake Huron Hall 

English Education

Amy Masko

Call English Department 616-331-3400 to make an appointment 

maskoa@gvsu.edu

230 Lake Huron Hall 

Linguistics

Laura Vanderbroek

Call English Department 616-331-3400 to make an appointment 

vanderbl@gvsu.edu

230 Lake Huron Hall 

Geography & Sustainable Planning

Jeroen Wagendorp

Email or submit in-person

wagendoj@gvsu.edu

B-4-105 Mackinac Hall

Geology & Earth Science

Virginia Peterson

Email or submit in-person

petersvi@gvsu.edu

Padnos Hall of Science # 118

History

William Morison (or Carolyn Shapiro-Shapin in William's absence)

Submit in-person preferred, E-mail ok.

morisonw@gvsu.edu

shapiroc@gvsu.edu

D-1-154 Mackinac Hall

D-1-220 Mackinac Hall

Honors College

Kelly McDonell)

Email

mcdoneke@gvsu.edu

117 Frederick Meijer Honors College 

Integrated Science Program

Keith Oliver

Email or submit in-person

oliverke@gvsu.edu

156 Padnos Hall of Science

International Relations

Polly Diven

Email

divenp@gvsu.edu 

1107 Au Sable Hall 

Mathematics

Sandra Snyder

Email

snydersa@gvsu.edu

A-2-178 Mackinac Hall 

Movement Science (Athletic Training, Exercise Science, Physical Education or Sport Leadership)

Christina Beaudoin

Email or submit in-person

beaudoic@gvsu.edu

B-2-235 Mackinac Hall

Natural Resource Management

Neil MacDonald

Email or submit in-person

macdonan@gvsu.edu

3300a Kindschi Hall of Science 

Occupational Therapy

Cynthia Grapczynski

Email or submit in-person

grapczyc@gvsu.edu 

248 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences 

Philosophy

John Uglietta

Email

ugliettj@gvsu.edu 

B-3-209 Mackinac Hall 

Political Science

Mark Richards

Email

richardm@gvsu.edu 

1106 Au Sable Hall 

Psychology

Robert Hendersen

Email or submit in-person

hendersr@gvsu.edu

 2224 AuSable Hall

Sociology

Yan Yu

Email

yuy@gvsu.edu

2152 Au Sable Hall 

Statistics

Paul Stephenson

Email or submit in-person

stephenp@gvsu.edu

A1170 Mackinac Hall

Writing

Writing advisor & cc: Dawn Nagelkirk

Email

nagelkid@gvsu.edu

326A Lake Ontario Hall 

School of Communications

Department

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Communication Studies

Melba Velez Ortiz 

Submit in-person

velortme@gvsu.edu 

107 Lake Michigan Hall 

Health Communication

Haiying Kong

Submit in-person

kongh@gvsu.edu

124 Lake Superior Hall

Advertising and Public Relations

Robin Spring

Submit in-person

springro@gvsu.edu

124 Lake Superior Hall

Multimedia Journalism

Len O'Kelly 

Submit in-person

okellyle@gvsu.edu 

283 Lake Superior Hall 

*Alternate Contact

Melba Velez Ortiz 

Email

velortme@gvsu.edu 

107 Lake Michigan Hall 

Modern Languages & Literature

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Arabic

Majd Al-Mallah

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

almallam@gvsu.edu 

B-2-247 Mackinac Hall 

Chinese

Yan Liang

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

liangya@gvsu.edu

D-2-144 Mackinac Hall 

French

Anne Caillaud

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

caillaua@gvsu.edu

B-3-243 Mackinac Hall

German

Donovan Anderson

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

andersdo@gvsu.edu

B-2-251 Mackinac Hall 

Italian

Gisella Licari

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

licarig@gvsu.edu 

B-2-236 Mackinac Hall

Japanese

Jeremy Robinson

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

robinjer@gvsu.edu

D-2-104 Mackinac Hall 

Polish

Eva Lewak

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

lewake@gvsu.edu 

D-2-304 Mackinac Hall

Spanish majors/minors

Diane Wright

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

wrightd@gvsu.edu

B-2-259 Mackinac Hall

Lower level Spanish courses

Laura Fox

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

foxl@gvsu.edu

D-2-128 Mackinac Hall

Russian

Majd Al-Mallah

Via E-mail by the student to the department contact.

almallam@gvsu.edu 

B-2-247 Mackinac Hall 

Department of Music, Theatre & Dance

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Music

 Beth Gibbs

Submit in-person

gibbsb@gvsu.edu

1601 Performing Arts Center 

Theatre

James Bell

Submit in-person

bellja@gvsu.edu

216 Lake Superior Hall

Dance

Beth Gibbs

Submit in-person

gibbsb@gvsu.edu

1601 Performing Arts Center 

Department of Visual and Media Arts

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Art Education

Kati Zaszlazik or Hsiao -Ping Chen

Email

zaszlavk@gvsu.edu or chenh@gvsu.edu

1113 Calder or 1121 Calder

Art History

Sigrid Danielson or Kirsten Strom

Email

danielsi@gvsu.edu or stromk@gvsu.edu

1118 Calder or 1116 Calder

Art & Design (Graphic Design, Illustration, Ceramics, Jewelry & Metals, Photography, Print Making, Sculpture, Studio Art, Visual Studies)

Katalin Zaszlavik

Email

artdept@gvsu.edu

1105 Calder Art Center

Photography

Anthony Thompson

Submit in-person

thompsoa@gvsu.edu

287 Lake Superior Hall

Film & Video

Kim Roberts

Submit in-person

robertsk@gvsu.edu

218 Lake Superior Hall

Kirkhof College of Nursing

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Nursing

Patti Townsend

Submit in-person

townsenp@gvsu.edu 

300 Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences

Padnos College of Engineering and Computing

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Engineering

Michelle Lindale

Email or submit in-person

lindalem@gvsu.edu

332 Kennedy Hall of Engineering

Computing & Information Systems

Paul Leidig

Email or submit in-person

leidig@gvsu.edu 

C-2-118 Mackinac Hall 

Occupational Safety & Health Management

       

Seidman College of Business

Department

Department Contact

Preferred Method of Contact

E-mail Address

Campus Address

Business: Accounting, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, International Business, and Marketing

Claire Rose

Email

rosecl@gvsu.edu

1041 L William Seidman Center



Page last modified December 7, 2017