Who We Are

Department of Statistics
A-1-178 Mackinac Hall
616-331-3355

Paul Stephenson

e-mail: stephenp@gvsu.edu

Chair, Professor

Office: MAK A-1-170
Tel.: 331-2081

PhD:  Clemson, 1995
Applications and Expertise: quality control, design of experiments

Hired at GVSU:  1995

 

Photo Not Available

Cheryl Smalley

e-mail: smalleyc@gvsu.edu
Academic Department Coordinator

Office: MAK A-1-178
Tel.: 331-3355

Hired at GVSU:  1997

 

Tenure Track Faculty

Kirk Anderson

e-mail: anderkir@gvsu.edu
Associate Professor

Office: MAK A-1-158
Tel.: 331-3674

PhD:  Western Michigan University, 2002

Applications and Expertise: nonparametric statistics, medical applications of statistics

Hired at GVSU:  2003

 

Phyllis Curtiss

e-mail: curtissp@gvsu.edu
Associate Professor

Office: MAK C-2-509
Tel.: 331-3363

PhD:  Bowling Green State University, 1999

Applications and Expertise: nonparametric statistics, mathematical statistics

Hired at GVSU:  1998

 

Bob Downer

e-mail: downerr@gvsu.edu
Professor

Office: MAK A-1-112
Tel.: 331-2247

PhD: Dalhousie University, 1997

Applications and Expertise: biostatistics

Hired at GVSU: 2005

 

Daniel Frobish

e-mail: frobishd@gvsu.edu
Associate Professor

Office: MAK A-1-164
Tel.: 331-3028

PhD: Northern Illinois University, 2006

Applications and Expertise: biostatistics and survival analysis

Hired at GVSU:  2006

 

John Gabrosek

e-mail: gabrosej@gvsu.edu
Professor

Office: MAK C-2-511
Tel.: 331-3691

webpage: faculty.gvsu.edu/gabrosej

PhD:  Iowa State University, 1999

Applications and Expertise: statistics in sports, statistical education, spatial statistics

Hired at GVSU:  1999

 

Soon Hong

e-mail: hongs@gvsu.edu
Professor

Office: MAK C-2-507
Tel.: 331-2057

webpage: faculty.gvsu.edu/hongs

PhD:  University of New Mexico, 1987

Applications and Expertise: multivariate data analysis, statistical computing

Hired at GVSU:  1987

 

Jann-Huei Jinn

e-mail: jinnj@gvsu.edu
Professor

Office: MAK A-1-162
Tel.: 331-2312

PhD:  State University of New York at Albany, 1987

Applications and Expertise: bayesian statistics, missing data

Hired at GVSU:  1991

 

Sango Otieno

e-mail: otienos@gvsu.edu

Associate Professor
Office: MAK A-1-166
Tel.: 331-2832

PhD:  Virginia Tech, 2002

Applications and Expertise: directional data, time series analysis

Hired at GVSU:  2003

 

Diann Reischman

e-mail: reischmd@gvsu.edu
Professor

Office: MAK C-2-515
Tel.: 331-3365

PhD:  University of Missouri - Columbia, 1998

Applications and Expertise: medical statistics, mathematical statistics

Hired at GVSU:  1998

 

Mary Richardson

e-mail: richamar@gvsu.edu
Professor

Office: MAK A-1-168
Tel.: 331-3364

PhD:  University of Missouri - Columbia, 1997

Applications and Expertise: statistics education

Hired at GVSU:  2001

 

Neal Rogness

e-mail: rognessn@gvsu.edu
Professor

Office: MAK A-1-160
Tel.: 331-2447

PhD:  University of Northern Colorado, 1993

Applications and Expertise: questionnaire design, sampling

Hired at GVSU:  1994

 

Gerald Shoultz

e-mail: shoultzg@gvsu.edu
Associate Professor

Office: MAK A-1-114
Tel.: 331-8689

PhD: University of South Carolina, 2004

Applications and Expertise: biostatistics, spatial statistics

Hired at GVSU:  2005

 

David Zeitler

e-mail: zeitlerd@gvsu.edu
Associate Professor

Office: MAK A-1-108
Tel.: 331-2825

webpage: faculty.gvsu.edu/zeitlerd

PhD:  Western Michigan University, 2001

Applications and Expertise: engineering statistics, stochastic processes

Hired at GVSU:  2004

 

Affiliate Faculty

Lori Hahn

e-mail: hahnlo@gvsu.edu
Affiliate Faculty

Office: MAK A-1-156
Tel.: 331-8685

Hired at GVSU:  2007

 

Photo Not Available

Becky Bergakker

e-mail: twingbe@gvsu.edu
Affiliate Faculty

Office: MAK A-1-154
Tel.: 331-8957

Hired at GVSU:  2008

 

Visiting Faculty 

Robert Flikkema                 e-mail: flikkemr@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-120
Tel.: 331-3017

Eric Helmholdt                 e-mail: helmhoer@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-116
Tel.: 331-2644

Gail Smythe                      e-mail: smytheg@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK B-4-227
Tel.: 331-8710

Nichole Race                   e-mail: raceni@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-110
Tel.: 331-8684

Adjunct Faculty

Jonathan Dent                 e-mail: dentj@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-2-503
Tel.: 331-3403

Jennifer Hower               e-mail: howerj@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-118
Tel.: 331-8938

Michael Kinlaw               e-mail: kinlawmi@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-118
Tel.: 331-8938

John Kinnane                 e-mail: kinnanjo@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-120
Tel.: 331-3017

Dale Lamps                   e-mail: lampsd@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK C-2-503
Tel.: 331-3403

Rob Lievense                 e-mail: lievensr@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-120
Tel.: 331-3017

Mary Luttenton               e-mail: luttemar@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-120
Tel.: 331-3017

Lori McElhaney              e-mail: mcelhanl@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-120
Tel: 331-3017

Wayne Petroelje           e-mail: petroelw@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK B-4-227
Tel.: 331-8710

Bill Plouff                          e-mail: plouffw@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-110
Tel.: 331-8684

Patricia Stephenson       e-mail: stephepa@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-110
Tel.: 331-8684

Thomas VanderLugt       e-mail: vanderto@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-120
Tel.: 331-3017

Mark Youngren              e-mail: youngrem@gvsu.edu
Office: MAK A-1-118
Tel.: 331-8938

Page last modified March 13, 2014