Service Learning Network

Faculty & Staff

Faculty/Staff Community Service-Learning Awards

Michigan Campus Compact recognizes outstanding community service and service-learning by faculty and staff members on a bi-annual basis (as announced in September 2010).  The Faculty/Staff Community Service-Learning Award is given to one person from each campus who engages or influences students to be involved in community service or service-learning through modeling, influence, or instruction. The recipient is determined through a selection process coordinated by the Community Service Learning Center and Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center.  *Do not send nominations directly to MCC.  The recipient is honored at the bi-annual MCC Service Learning and Civic Engagement Institute

Past MCC Faculty/Staff Community Service Learning Award Recipients:

2011 ~ Dr. Julia Mason (Forum Article)

Bi-annual process announced in September 2010.
2009 ~ Mrs. Mellissa Baker-Boosamra (Forum Article)
2008 ~ Dr. Danielle Wiese (Forum Article)
2007 ~ Mr. Paul Wittenbraker (Forum Article)
2006 ~ Dr. Richard Jelier
2004 ~ Ms. Annie Davies-MacLachlan
2003 ~ Dr. Shirley Fleischmann (Forum Article) (Forum Article)
2002 ~ Dr. Jay Cooper
2001 ~ Dr. Michael DeWilde
2000 ~ Dr. Herbert Bellrichard-Perkins
1999 ~ Dr. David Bair
1998 ~ Dr. Julie Guevara
1997 ~ Mr. Frederick Chapman
1996 ~ Ms. Connie Jones and Mr. William Boshoven
1995 ~ Dr. Donald Williams
1994 ~ Dr. Philip Pratt and Dr. Glenda Taylor
1993 ~ Dr. Ursula Franklin and Mr. Jay Cooper

Campus-Community Partnership Award (formerly known as "Carter")
The Campus-Community Partnership Award recognizes one outstanding campus-community partnership that produces measurable improvements in people's lives while enhancing higher education in the process.  This award is given bi-annually by Michigan Campus Compact (MCC) to one exceptional partnership involving a Michigan college or university and a community group; the $5,000 prize will be divided equally between campus and community partners.

Past Carter Partnership Award Recipients
2010 - Finalist - Grand Valley State University/Godfrey-Lee Public Schools (Press Release)
2009 - Winner - Grand Valley State University/Westown Jubilee Housing (Press Release)


Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center Award Opportunities
The Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center (FTLC) administers campus-wide teaching awards for GVSU.  For information and nomination forms, please visit www.gvsu.edu/ftlc.

Student Recognition / Awards
More information about  nominating recognizing students at the university, state, and national levels is available on the Community Service Learning Center's web site.

Page last modified March 27, 2012