Music & Dance

Faculty & Staff

Department of Music and Dance Faculty & Staff
Department Chair, Danny Phipps (phippsda@gvsu.edu)

Concert Manager and Arts Information, Valerie Stoelzel (stoelzev@gvsu.edu)
Facilities & Operations Manager/Designer, Jill Hamilton (hamiltoj@gvsu.edu)
Costume Shop Manager, Sally Langa (langas@gvsu.edu)
Equipment and Stage Manager, Nathaniel Bliton
(blitonn@gvsu.edu)
Office Coordinator, Kristi Fosdick (fosdickk@gvsu.edu)
Department Secretary, Charlyn Worthem (worthemc@gvsu.edu)
Department Receptionist, Joann Szyniszewski (szyniszj@gvsu.edu)
 

Woodwinds
Arthur Campbell (campbela@gvsu.edu), Clarinet, Professor

Marlen Vavrikova (vavrikom@gvsu.edu)Oboe, Associate Professor
Christopher Kantner, (kantnerc@gvsu.edu), Flute, Affiliate Professor
Dan Graser, (graserd@gvsu.edu), Saxophone, Assistant Professor
Vincent Karamanov, Bassoon, Adjunct Professor
Joel Schekman, (schekmaj@gvsu.edu) Clarinet, Adjunct Professor

Brass
Richard Stoelzel (stoelzer@gvsu.edu), Trumpet, Professor
Mark Williams (willima1@gvsu.edu), Trombone, Associate Professor
Richard Britsch (britschr@gvsu.edu), Horn, Affiliate Professor
Paul Carlson (carlsopa@gvsu.edu
), Tuba, Affiliate Professor
Kevin Good (goodkev@gvsu.edu), Trumpet, Affiliate Professor
Hunter Eberly, Trumpet, Adjunct Professor
Jeffrey Lewandowski, Trumpet, Adjunct Professor

Percussion
Tim Froncek (froncekt@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Gregrey Secor (secorg@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor

Strings
Pablo Mahave-Veglia (mahavep@gvsu.edu), Cello, Associate Professor
Gregory Maytan (maytang@gvsu.edu), Violin, Associate Professor
Paul Swantek (swantekp@gvsu.edu), Viola, Affiliate Professor

Michael Hovnanian (hovnanim@gvsu.edu), Bass, Adjunct Professor

Guitar
Carlos de la Barrera (delabarc@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor
Michael T. Drost (drostm@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor

Harp
Martha Lynn Waldvogel-Warren, (waldvogm@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor

Keyboard
Helen Marlais (marlaish@gvsu.edu), Piano, Piano pedagogy, Associate Professor
Giuseppe Lupis (lupisg@gvsu.edu), Piano, Assistant Professor
Robert Byrens (byrensr@gvsu.edu), Vocal Coach/Accompanist, Affiliate Professor
Gregory Crowell (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Harpsichord and Organ, Affiliate Professor

Jordan Waller (wallejor@gvsu.edu), Class Piano, Adjunct Professor
Julianne Vanden Wyngaard (vandenwj@gvsu.edu), Carillon, University Carillonneur, Artist-In-Residence

Voice
Dale Schriemer (schriemd@gvsu.edu), Professor and Director of Vocal Activities, Director of Opera Theatre
Kathryn Stieler (stielerk@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Min Jin, (jinm@gvsu.edu) Affiliate Professor

Kaylin Heath, (heathka@gvsu.edu) Adjunct Professor
Rachael Gates,  Adjunct Professor

Dance
Carrie Morris (morrcarr@gvsu.edu), Assistant Professor-Modern
Mary Lohman, (lohmanma@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor-Ballet
Sarah Magoon (magoonsa@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor-Jazz
Amy Wilson (wilsonam@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor-Modern

Stephen Sanford (sanfords@gvsu.edu). Adjunct Professor-Ballet
Judi A. Jaekel (jaekelju@gvsu.edu) Adjunct Professor
Brian McSween, Adjunct Professor
Megan McSween, Adjunct Professor
Lara S. Faucher (fauchela@gvsu.edu) Adjuct Professor
Cat O'Callaghan (ocallahc@gvsu.edu), Adjunct-Costume Designer
Alex Hamel (hamelal@gvsu.edu), Dance Musician
Margi Derks Peterson (petemarg@gvsu.edu), Dance Musician

GVSU Opera Theatre
Dale Schriemer (schriemd@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor

Instrumental Ensemble Conductors
Kevin Tutt (tuttk@gvsu.edu), Professor, Director of Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Coordinator of Instrumental Music
Henry Duitman (duitmanh@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor and Director of Orchestra
Pablo Mahave-Veglia (mahavep@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Director of Early Music Ensemble
Bill Ryan (ryanwi@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor, Director of New Music Ensemble
John T. Martin (marjohnt@gvsu.edu), Assistant Professor, Director of Athletic Bands, Concert Band & University Band
Tim Froncek (froncekt@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor, Director of Jazz Ensembles

Vocal Ensemble Conductors
Ellen Pool (poole@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor and Director of Choral Activities, University Arts Chorale, Cantata Chamber Ensemble, and Select Womens' Ensemble
Charles Norris (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Professor, Director of Varsity Men
James Metzler (metzlerj@gvsu.edu), Director of University Singers

Composition
Bill Ryan (ryanwi@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor

Music Education
Charles Norris (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Professor
Barry Martin (martinb@gvsu.edu), Professor

Henry Duitman (duitmanh@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Ellen Pool (poole@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Beth Gibbs (gibbsb@gvsu.edu), Assistant Professor & Coordinator
John Martin (marjohnt@gvsu.edu), Assistant Professor
Patty Gordon (gordonpa@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor

Musicology & Music Theory
Lisa Feurzeig (feurzeil@gvsu.edu), Professor
Charles Norris (norrisc@gvsu.edu), Professor
John Schuster-Craig (schustej@gvsu.edu), Professor
Lee Copenhaver (copenhal@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Gregory Crowell (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor

Jeremy Crosmer (crosmerj@gvsu.edu) Adjunct Professor

Music General Education Faculty
Gregory Crowell (crowellg@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor
Paul Swantek (swantekp@gvsu.edu), Affiliate Professor

Kurt Ellenberger, (ellenbek@gvsu.edu), Associate Professor
Andrew Bergeron (Andrew.Bergeron@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor
Jack DeBoer (debojack@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor
Allen French (frencha@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor
Samuel Gould (goulds1@gvsu.eduAdjunct Professor
Chris Kjorness (kjornesc@gvsu.edu)Adjunct Professor
Katherine Klinefelter (klinefk1@gvsu.edu) Adjunct Professor
Robert Lunn (lunnro@gvsu.edu) Adjunct Professor
James Metzler (metzlerj@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor
Kimberly Veenstra (veenstki@gvsu.edu), Adjunct Professor

Page last modified September 2, 2014