Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff


Program Coordinator


Coeli Fitzpatrick

Coeli Fitzpatrick

Professor
Ph.D., Binghamton University-State University of New York
Coordinator, Middle East Studies
Areas of Interest: Philosophy, Middle East Studies
(616) 331-3748
B-3-233 Mackinac Hall
fitzpaco@gvsu.edu


Faculty


Gamal Gasim

Gamal Gasim

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Areas of Interest: Comparative Politics, Middle Eastern Politics
(616) 331-8106
111 Lake Ontario Hall
gasimg@gvsu.edu

Sebastian Maisel

Sebastian Maisel

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Leipzig-Germany
Middle East Studies
Modern Languages and Literatures

(616) 331-2034
B-2-234 Mackinac Hall
maisels@gvsu.edu


Affiliate Faculty


David Alvarez

David Alvarez

Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas
Areas of Interest: Contemporary cross-Mediterranean migrations in literature, photography, and film, Contemporary South African literature in English, Colonialism and Postcoloniality in Gibraltar
(616) 331-3581
272 Lake Huron Hall
alvarezd@gvsu.edu

Roy Cole

Roy Cole

Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University
Areas of Interest: Sustainable Economic and Human Development, Drought and Socioeconomy, Land use/cover Change, Arabo-Islamic Histogeography - particularly source-critical approaches, Apocalyptic Ideologies and Sacred Geographies, Africa, Middle East
(616) 331-3377
B-4-203 Mackinac Hall
coler@gvsu.edu

Sigrid Danielson

Sigrid Danielson

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
Department of Art and Design 
(616) 331-2574 
1118 Calder Fine Arts Center
danielsi@gvsu.edu 

Danielle DeMuth

Danielle M. DeMuth

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Toledo
Chair, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
(616) 331-8216
218 Lake Ontario Hall
demuthd@gvsu.edu

James Goode

James Goode

Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University
Areas of Interest: US Foreign Relations, Middle East, 20th-century US
(616) 331-3184 
D-1-134 Mackinac Hall
goodej@gvsu.edu

Sheldon Kopperl

Sheldon Kopperl

Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Liberal Studies Department
(616) 331-3530
102 Lake Ontario Hall
kopperls@gvsu.edu

Chad Lingwood

Chad Lingwood

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Areas of Interest: Middle East History, History of Iran
(616) 331-8697
D-1-122 Mackinac Hall
lingwoch@gvsu.edu

Muaz Redzic

Muaz Redzic

Part-time Faculty
Ph.D., Graduate Theological Foundation
Middle East Studies
616-331-8110
110 Lake Ontario Hall
redzicm@gvsu.edu

Mark Schaub

Mark Schaub

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Purdue University
Chief International Officer
Padnos International Center
(616) 331-3898
130 Lake Ontario Hall
schaubm@gvsu.edu

Mark Schwartz

Mark Schwartz

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University
Areas of Interest: Anthropology, Archaeology of the Near East
(616) 331-8518
220 Lake Michigan Hall
schwamar@gvsu.edu