Skip to main content

GV Now

Awards to be presented during faculty convocation

  • In this 2012 photo, Robert Smart presents a CSCE award to Christine Smith, professor of psychology. The 2013 faculty convocation will be held February 7 in the DeVos Center.

Posted on February 04, 2013

The annual Faculty Awards Convocation is set for Thursday, February 7, in the DeVos Center, Loosemore Auditorium.

The University Awards for Excellence will be presented, along with awards from the Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center and the Center for Scholarly and Creative Excellence. Faculty members who have 25, 30, 35 or 40 years of service to Grand Valley will also be recognized.

The event will begin at 4 p.m.; Robert Adams, associate professor of computing and information systems, will give the keynote address. Adams will also receive the Outstanding University Service Award.

Danielle Leek, associate professor of communications, will receive the Outstanding Advising and Student Services Award; Zulema Moret, associate professor of modern languages and literatures, will receive the Outstanding Community Services Award; Helen Marlais, associate professor of music, will receive the Distinguished Contribution in a Discipline Award; and Janet Vigna, associate professor of biology, will receive the Outstanding Teacher Award.

FTLC awards will be presented to Michael Seger, Scott Truskowski, Shannon Biros, Mahendra Joshi, Jacquelyn Melin, Roderick Morgan, Debra Ross, Andrew Spear and Maureen Wolverton.

CSCE awards will go to David Leonard, Michael Lombardo, Carl Ruetz, Dawn Hart and Amy Russell.
Five faculty members will celebrate 40 years of service: Faite Mack, Jitendra Mishra, Melvin Northup, Stephen Rowe and Beverly Seley.

Barbara Roos and Laura Vander Broek will be recognized for 35 years; and Dellas Henke and Ellen Pool for 30. Marty Abramson, Kathleen Blumreich, Soon Hong, Kay Reick, Elaine Schott, Dale Schriemer and Paul Sicilian will celebrate 25 years of service.

Recent Articles

more articles