Skip to main content

GV Now

English faculty create new scholarship

  • Sabrina Hatfield and Kelly Gorajec were awarded scholarships

Posted on April 17, 2012

Students Sabrina Hatfield and Kelly Gorajec are the inaugural recipients of the two annual English Faculty Scholarships for New Majors, a new scholarship fully funded by the English department faculty. Presented at the department Awards Ceremony on April 12, Hatfield, a sophomore from Walker, and Gorajec, a freshman from Muskegon, were each awarded $750 toward fall 2012 tuition.

“As a faculty, we want to support our students as they pursue their degree in a field that we all love,” said Amy L. Masko, associate professor of English education and chair of the committee that launched the scholarship. “We are offering it at the freshman and sophomore level, with the expressed goal of supporting new students in the English major.”

Applicants for the scholarship must be first-generation college students and have a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or above.

Recent Articles

more articles