Skip to main content

GV Now

Awards to be presented at faculty convocation

  • Christine Yalda, assistant professor of criminal justice, is pictured with Provost Gayle R. Davis at last year¿s faculty convocation. Yalda received the Outstanding Advising and Student Services Award.

Posted on February 01, 2010

The third annual Faculty Awards Convocation will be held Thursday, February 4, in Loosemore Auditorium at the DeVos Center.

Service awards will be presented to faculty members who have been at Grand Valley for 25, 30, 35 and 40 years. Distinguished awards will also be presented.

The convocation will start at 4 p.m. Provost Gayle R. Davis will give opening remarks, and Deanna Morse, professor of communications, will give a keynote address. Selections from Opera Theatre's production of "Into the Woods" will be performed by students accompanied by John Schuster-Craig, professor of music. The campus community is invited to attend; a reception will follow the ceremony.

Distinguished awards will be presented to the following recipients:
• Outstanding Advising and Student Services Award: Christine Drewel, instructor of liberal studies;
• Outstanding Community Service Award:    Ruth Ann Brintnall, associate professor of nursing;
• Outstanding University Service Award: Lawrence Burns, professor of psychology;
• Distinguished Contribution in a Discipline Award: George McBane, associate professor of chemistry;
• University Outstanding Teacher Award: Bradley Wallar, associate professor of chemistry;
• Pew Teaching Excellence Awards: John Kilbourne, professor of movement science;    Matthew Daley, assistant professor of history; Danielle DeMuth, assistant professor of women and gender studies; Ellen Pool, associate professor of music; Andrew Sterian, associate professor of engineering;
• Pew Teaching with Technology Awards:    Nathan Barrows, assistant professor of chemistry; Susan Swartzlander, professor of Honors; Norine Cunningham, affiliate faculty of nursing.
Service awards will be presented to the following faculty members:
• 40 years: Ronald Dwelle, associate professor of English;    Kenneth Johnson, associate professor of computing and information systems (retired); James Scott, associate professor of movement science;
• 35 years: Donna Larson, professor of nursing; Stanton Lindquist, professor of accounting and taxation; Harvey Nikkel, professor of chemistry; M. Christine O'Connor, professor emerita of psychology;
• 30 years: James Grant, professor of education; Deanna Morse, professor of communications; Richard Veazey, associate professor of accounting (posthumously);
• 25 years: Gordon Alderink, professor of physical therapy; Gayla Jewell, associate professor of nursing (retired); Benjamin Lockerd Jr., professor of English; Alexander Nesterenko, professor of communications; Donald Paszek, associate professor of psychology;     James Persoon, professor of English; Patricia Irwin Rowe, professor of movement science.

Recent Articles

more articles