'Antona Garcia' schedule change

Posted on

Theatre at Grand Valley has canceled the Saturday, April 7 evening performance of 'Antona Garcia.' Anyone with purchased tickets may receive a full refund or exchange them for any other performance:

Thursday, April 5, 2012, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 6, 2012, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 7, 2012, 2:00 p.m.

Tickets are $6-12. To purchase tickets, call the Louis Armstrong box office at 616-331-2300. More information may be obtained at www.gvsu.edu/theatre.

The play is an adventure/romance, filled with action and rollicking with humor in the vein of “The Princess Bride” or “Xena Warrior Princess.” This English translation and stage adaptation of the play, written by Tirso de Molina in 1635, was recently developed by Grand Valley faculty members Jason Yancey, assistant professor of Spanish, and James Bell, assistant professor of theater. Molina, an outstanding dramatist of the Golden Age of Spanish literature who wrote more than 300 pieces, is best known for introducing the character Don Juan in “El burlador de Sevilla.”

The production made its debut during the 2012 international Spanish Golden Age Drama Festival at the Chamizal National Memorial in El Paso, Texas, in March. Grand Valley was the only group from the U.S. invited by the Department of the Interior, National Park Service, to perform.