Skip to main content

GV Now

Awards presented to campus leaders

  • From left are Women's Commission award recipients Doriana Gould, Amy Campbell, Diane Rayor and Julia Dang, who accepted an award for Connie Dang.
  • From left are Julia Rapp, Amanda Hentsch, Sashara Campbell and Elizabeth Batten.
  • Members of Positive Black Women and President Thomas J. Haas stand with scholarship recipient Tempest Warfield.

Posted on March 28, 2014

Campus women were recognized for their leadership and support of women and girls at the annual Celebrating Women Awards ceremony, held March 27 in the Kirkhof Center.

The Women’s Commission presented three awards: Women’s Impact, Maxine Swanson and Unsung Hero.

Diane Rayor, professor of Classics, received the Women’s Impact Award. A nominator noted Rayor’s ability to take people who lived thousands of years ago and make them real to current audiences. Rayor helped establish the department in 2000.

Connie Dang, director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs, received the Maxine Swanson Award. Dang was attending a conference in Wisconsin; her daughter, Julia, accepted the award on her behalf. Nominators highlighted Dang’s service to both the on- and off-campus communities.

Unsung Hero Awards were presented to Doriana Gould, academic coordinator for Modern Languages and Literatures; and Amy Campbell, assistant director of wellness. Gould has worked for Grand Valley for 40 years. Her willingness to help with international visitors was noted. A nominator highlighted Campbell’s service on numerous campus committees and her help with establishing the new Injury Care Clinic.

Positive Black Women awarded scholarships to Robynn Jackson, Clarissa Rivera-Kressbach, Tempest Warfield and Sara Weed.

The Women’s Center presented Outstanding Student Awards to Elizabeth Batten, Sashara Campbell, Amanda Hentsch and Julia Rapp.

Jepkoech Kottutt received the Jean Enright Scholarship, presented by Women and Gender Studies.


Recent Articles

more articles