Awards presented by AP Committee

Provost Gayle R. Davis, left, and President Thomas J. Haas stand with Darlene Zwart.
2 of 7
Provost Gayle R. Davis, left, and President Thomas J. Haas stand with Darlene Zwart.
Posted on

LeaAnn Tibbe, assistant director for Student Life, received the A/P Achievement Award, the highest honor presented by the Administrative/Professional Committee.

That award and others were presented April 17 during a luncheon in the Kirkhof Center.

In his nomination for Tibbe, Bob Stoll, associate dean for Student Life, called Tibbe a true Laker for a lifetime. “She strives every day to make this a special place,” Stoll said.

He added that Tibbe helped establish and continues to lead many annual events such as Family Weekend and the Renaissance Faire.

Provost Gayle R. Davis presented the Outstanding Advising and Student Services Award to Darlene Zwart, student services director for the College of Health Professions.

Forrest Clift, associate director for the College of Education’s Center for Educational Partnerships, received the Commitment to Diversity Award.

Patrick Johnson, assistant director of the Meijer Center for Writing and Michigan Authors, received the Commitment to Students Award.

The Innovation Award went to Daniel Slaughter and Brent Swisher from Institutional Marketing for their work on upgrading the university’s content management system.

Quincy Williams, undergraduate and internship coordinator for the School of Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration, earned the Service to Community Award.

The Military Appreciation Day team earned the Outstanding Team Award for its work on hosting community members, military vendors and others September 21 during a Laker football game. The event raised more than $6,000 for an endowed scholarship for dependents of veterans.

Six people received 25-year medallions for their service to Grand Valley: Julia Guevara, John Klein, Lynn Krupansky, Star Raymond, Terri Suess and Kurt Thompson.