Skip to main content

GV Now

Annual awards event will celebrate campus excellence

Posted on April 11, 2012

A Grand Valley tradition that honors campus excellence and academic achievement will take place this year at the Eberhard Center April 16.

More than 110 total awards will be given to students and faculty members at this year’s Annual Awards Celebration.

More than 95 students will receive a Departmental Honors Award, which recognizes an outstanding student, chosen by faculty members, from each major at Grand Valley.

The Glenn A. Niemeyer Awards, the most prestigious academic award presented by the Provost Office and the university, will be given to a group of undergraduate and graduate students and faculty members.

The Student Services Awards includes the Kenneth R. Venderbush Student Leadership Award and the Thomas M. Seykora Award for Outstanding Contribution. Two students will be awarded the Venderbush Award and eight students will be awarded the Seykora Award.

The first annual awards event, formally called the Honors Program, took place at Grand Valley in 1979 and 45 awards were presented.

Recent Articles

more articles