Skip to main content

GV Now

WGVU-TV named Station of the Year for second year

Posted on March 04, 2010

WGVU-TV has been named Station of the Year by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters for the second year in a row. The station received the honor at the annual MAB awards ceremony March 3 in Lansing.

WGVU Radio won a 'Best in Category Award' at the ceremony. Patrick Center won an award for “Safety Seat Law;” Lindsey Smith won an award for “La Grand Vitesse;” and Rick Bierling received three awards for “Morning Show Generic Promo,” “Story Corp West Michigan: Proctor,” and “Green Membership.”

Thirteen WGVU-TV programs also earned MAB awards including:

Best in Category Awards received by Patrick Center and Phil Lane for West Michigan Week-Governor Granholm; Deb Kirk for Battle Creek: Celebrating Flight 2009; Jim Vander Maas for Grand Valley State Sports Report-Soccer Feature and ArtPrize: Rebooting the Conversation Promo; and Patrick Center and Jim Vander Maas for ArtPrize: Rebooting the Conversation.

Best in Category Awards were also received by Patrick Center for WGVU Newsmakers-Ford Wreath Laying Ceremony; Phil Lane and Shelley Irwin for Antiques Roadshow: Behind the Scenes; and the WGVU Marketing Department for Pledge: Jen Jelsema (Kids).

Merit Awards were received by James Holland and Shelley Irwin for Paying for College in Michigan; Jim Vander Maas for Grand Valley State Sports Report Soccer Feature; Phil Lane for National Lakeshore: A Visit to Sleeping Bear Dunes; Patrick Center and Jim Vander Maas for ArtPrize: Rebooting the Conversation; and Michael T. Walenta, Bradley Gordon, and Jim Marcusse for The National Parks Project.

Recent Articles

more articles