Skip to main content

GV Now

Sociology faculty honored

Posted on November 23, 2009

Two sociology professors have been recognized by The Michigan Sociological Association.

Mary deYoung was awarded the 2009 Charles Horton Cooley Award for Distinguished Scholarship. The Cooley Award is given for scholarly contribution to the field of sociological knowledge. For nearly three decades, deYoung has conducted international research as both a social psychologist and criminologist and is noted for her unique research on moral panics and madness.

Joseph Verschaeve, affiliate professor, was awarded the 2009 Marvin Olsen Award for Distinguished Service to Sociology. The Olsen Award acknowledges distinguished service to the field of sociology. Verschaeve was noted for his research on symbolic interactionism, human rights, social justice and methods of innovation.

Recent Articles

more articles