Skip to main content

GV Now

University, service awards presented at convocation

  • Provost Gayle R. Davis speaks at the 2013 Faculty Award Convocation. This year's event is set for February 6 at the DeVos Center.

Posted on February 03, 2014

The annual Faculty Award Convocation is set for Thursday, February 6, at the DeVos Center, Loosemore Auditorium.

The event will begin at 4 p.m. Matthew Boelkins, professor of mathematics, will give the keynote address. He will also receive the Outstanding Advising and Student Services Award.

A new award will be presented, recognizing a faculty member who encourages and advances diversity on campus.

The Burch, Jacobs and Moore Diversity Teaching Award will be presented to Rachel Peterson, assistant professor of liberal studies. The award, presented by the Pew Faculty Teaching and Learning Center, is named for three members of the Pioneer Class: Joan Burch, Annie Jacobs and James Moore, the first people of color to graduate from Grand Valley in 1967.

The Outstanding Community Service Award will be presented to Shawn Bultsma, assistant professor of leadership and learning. Karen Gipson, associate professor of physics, will receive the Outstanding University Service Award. Deborah Herrington and Figen Mekik will each receive the Distinguished Contribution in a Discipline Award. Bradley Ambrose, professor of physics, will receive the University Outstanding Teacher Award.

The Center for Scholarly and Creative Excellence will present awards to Rachel Powers, David Stark, Cynthia Coviak, Shannon Biros and Amanda Dillard.

The FTLC will present awards to Steven Hawks, Matthew Reidsma, Timothy Evans, Mandy Menke, Terry Stockton and Ayana Weekley.

Milestone awards will be presented for 25, 30, 40 and 45 years of service.

Recent Articles

more articles