Skip to main content

GV Now

Advisors receive Faculty of Distinction awards

  • Twenty faculty members received a Faculty of Distinction award during Campus Leadership Week.
  • Provost Gayle Davis
  • Michelle Burke, associate director of Student Life

Posted on January 26, 2012

Faculty members who serve as advisors for the more than 95 academic student organizations at Grand Valley were recognized at an appreciation breakfast on January 26 during Campus Leadership Week.

Nominated by students, alumni and people from the campus community, 20 faculty members were awarded Faculty of Distinction honors. The award was created by Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society to celebrate 20 years at Grand Valley and to recognize the important role faculty members play for students both in and out of the classroom.

“We are proud of the many ways our faculty members help enrich students’ academic experience, and we know students will get a jump-start on their career because of their support,” said Provost Gayle Davis.

Faculty of Distinction award recipients are Peter Anderson, Craig Benjamin, Shawn T. Bible, Ranelle Brew, Austin Bunn, Grace Coolidge, Cynthia Coviak, Jodee Hunt, Karen Libman, Julia Mason, Shaily Menon, Azizur Molla, Lois Smith Owens, Charles Pazdernik, Tim Penning, Dawn Richiert, Andrew Sterian, Jennifer Stewart, Merritt Taylor and Danielle Wiese-Leek.

The Academic Student Organization Appreciation Breakfast was sponsored by the Office of Student Life, the Provost Office and Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society.

Recent Articles

more articles