Marching band to perform entire halftime show lineup

Posted on

From Jimi Hendrix and Taylor Swift, to patriotic classics and "The Sound of Music," the Laker Marching Band will perform highlights from its 2015 football halftime show lineup during its annual Bandorama concert.

The free concert will take place Sunday, December 6, beginning at 7:30 p.m. in the Kelly Family Sports Center on the Allendale Campus.

"Bandorama allows the students to focus on the music without worrying about marching," said John Martin, director of Athletic Bands at Grand Valley. "It is a time for their parents, family, friends and the community to attend a performance that recaps the entire season in one hour and 15 minutes."

Martin said each year the Laker Marching Band Council selects the themes and songs for the season. The council is a student organization comprised of current students who currently are, or have previously been, members of the band. The group, however, is open to all students.

For more information, contact the Music and Dance Department at (616) 331-3484.