Charles J. Venit, B.S., 1971, was named the Sarasota County Special Olympics Coach of the Year.

Peter D. Derrick, B.S., 1976, retired from Raytheon Vision Systems in Goleta, California, after 33 years.

Harvey Elgersma, B.B.A., 1977, is a partner at B2B CFO Partnership in Hudsonville.


Robert K. Pattison Jr., B.S., 1988, is a district judge and a family court judge for Circuit Court in Centreville.

Todd A. Goble, B.S., 1987, is the varsity coach for the baseball program in Quaker Valley School District in Leetsdale, Pennsylvania.


John A. Jancek, B.S., 1991, is the defensive coordinator and linebackers coach for the University of Tennessee.

Laura A. (Moore) Marble, B.B.A., 1991, received the Facility Manager of the Year Award from the Building Owners and Managers Association of Metro Detroit.

Brian J. Hofstra, B.B.A., 1993, is the vice president of commercial lending at Founders Bank and Trust in Grand Rapids.

Bryan D. Bench, B.S., 1993, was elected to the board of directors for the Commercial Alliance of Realtors in Grand Rapids.

Christopher A. Bolhuis, B.S., 1994, B.S., 1997, M.Ed., 2005, was named the 2013 American Association of Petroleum Geologists Foundation Teacher of the Year.

Daniel P. Demers, B.B.A., 1996, is the director of marketing for the Americas at Congatec Inc. in San Diego, California.

Rebecca A. Fleis, B.S., 1996, received the Employee of the Year Award from the Arizona Department of Corrections, where she has been working for 14 years.

James F. Parr, B.S., 1997, is the executive director of the Sault Area Chamber of Commerce of Directors.

Lisa A. (Hills) Willis, B.S., 1991, is a kindergarten technology teacher for Escanaba Area Public Schools.

Terry L. Brown, M.E., 1995, serves on the Michigan House Appropriations Committee for the 2013-2014 legislative terms.

Todd R. Monken, M.E., 1991, is the head football coach for the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.

Tracey P. Tyler, M.E., 1991, is a clinical social worker for Desert Streams Christian Counseling in Kalamazoo.

Michael G. Rosloniec, M.B.A., 1999, serves on the board of trustees for the Grand Rapids Community Foundation.


Cindy M. Greenwood, B.A., 2000, is the assistant director for the Center for Women in Technology at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, in Baltimore.

Ira D. Socol, B.A., 2000, is a design 2015 program manager for Albemarle Country Public Schools in Charlottesville, Virginia.

Jackie R. Hallberg, M.S.W., 2002, is owner and life coach for Lakeshore Life Coaching in Muskegon.

Joseph E. Klesney, M.B.A, 2002, is vice president of planning and ancillary services for Spectrum Health Zeeland Community Hospital in Zeeland.

Sarah E. (Johnson) Petersen, B.B.A., 2002, is the treasurer for the City of Roosevelt Park.

James R. Poll, B.S., 2002, is a shareholder at Rhoades McKee in Grand Rapids. 

Jennifer A. Jurgens, M.B.A., 2003, is the executive director for Susan G. Komen for the Cure, West Michigan affiliate.

Rachael L. Voorhees, B.S., 2004, is the manager of corporate strategy for the American Red Cross in Washington D.C.

Lindsey M. (Simmons) Balcazar, B.S., 2005, is an accountant executive for Serendipity Media in Grand Rapids.

Mary K. Sierawski, B.A., 2005, is the executive assistant for the Grand Rapids Downtown Development Authority.

Shanika P. Carter, M.S., 2006, is an eligibility specialist for the Department of Human Services for Kent County in Grand Rapids, and also a freelance writer.

Natalie A. Bazan, B.A., 2007, received the Demco New Leaders Travel Grant from the American Library Association for her work as director of the Hopkins District Public Library.

Eric M. Drewry, B.S., 2007, is a manager of the safety and security department for Thomas Jefferson Foundation Inc. in Charlottesville, Virginia.

Leah M. Jansen, B.S., 2007, is a controller for Hascall Steel Co. in Grandville.

Stephanie N. (Key) Wildey, B.A., 2008, is a manufacturing engineer for GE Aviation in Muskegon.

Maxine Y. Gray, M.S., 2009, joined the global employer brand team, Strategic Talent Initiatives department, at Starbucks in Seattle, Washington.


David F. Ekkel, B.B.A., 2010, is a foreclosure specialist for Nationstar Mortgage in Lewisville, Texas.

Mallory K. Morris, B.A., 2010, is a middle school reading teacher for St. Anthony Catholic School in Washington, D.C.

Ty W. Bross, B.S., 2011, is a graduate student in security informatics at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana.

Justin M. Arnold, B.S., 2012, published a book, The Leadership Skill Set.

Ian S. Deering, B.B.A., 2012, is a product data analyst for Steelcase Inc. in Grand Rapids.

Brent T. Tavis, M.P.A., 2012, is an event coordinator for the University of Wisconsin Green Bay’s Athletic Department.

Tyler D. Tulloch, B.S., 2012, is a budget and policy analyst for the Michigan State Budget Office.

Carolyn J. (Callesen) Waterstradt, M.S.W., 2012, is a therapist for West Michigan Therapy in Muskegon.


Page last modified May 2, 2013