Alum David Theune receives three awards

COE alum David Theune was recently honored with awards from the National Council of Teachers of English and the Tri-Cities Chamber of Commerce.

Glenn A. Niemeyer Graduate Student Award

Scott Burden, a 2016 graduate of the M.Ed. in Higher Education program, received the Glenn A. Niemeyer Award, GVSU's most prestigious academic honor.

Mitchell honored with Kimboko Inclusion Award

Donald "DJ" Mitchell Jr., Ph.D., received the 2016 Graduate Faculty Kimboko Inclusion Award from Grand Valley's Graduate Student Association.

COE 2016 Student Awards

Instructors from the COE annually nominate graduating undergraduate and graduate students for the Outstanding Student Awards, Graduate Dean Citations, Outstanding Master's Project, and Outstanding Master's Thesis.

Alum Theresa Lyon receives National Research Award

The National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) selected COE alum Theresa Lyon (M.Ed. in Higher Education, '15) as a 2016 NACADA Student Research Award Winner.

Geisel receives Pew Teaching Excellence Award

Richard Geisel, J.D., Ph.D., received the Pew Teaching Excellence Award

Schelling receives Outstanding University Service Award

Amy Schelling, Ed.D., was presented with the Outstanding University Service Award.

Bailey-Fakhoury receives Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award

Chasity Bailey-Fakhoury, Ph.D., selected for the Fall 2015 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award.

Shinsky receives Big Ten Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award

The College of Education's Interim Dean John Shinsky was presented with the Big Ten Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award.

First Year Teacher of the Year

Kyle Summerfield, a 2014 graduate of the College of Education, was named a First Year Teacher of the Year for the 2014-15 school year by Katy Independent School District in Katy, Texas.

Page last modified May 23, 2017