Grand Valley State University University Academic Senate Minutes of November 5, 2021

Present:

Majd Al-Mallah, Yatin Bhagwat, Ben Biermacher (Student Senate), Arthur Campbell, Alice Chapman (for Jason Crouthamel), Adrian Copeland, Tara Cornelius, David Crane, Alisha Davis, Nancy DeFrance, Brian Deyo, Justin Frappier (Student Senate), John Gabrosek, Scarlet Galvan, Susan Harrington, Chris Haven, Kristin Hedges (for Deana Weibel), Barbara Hooper, Naoki Kanaboshi, Courtney Karasinski, Faith Kidd (Student Senate), Salvador Lopez-Arias, Leifa Mayers, Amy McFarland, Marie McKendall, Azizur Molla, Jared Moore, Oindrila Mukherjee, Autumn Mueller (Student Senate President), Felix Ngassa (Chair), Jim O'Neil (Student Senate), Charles Pazdernik, Chris Pearl, Lisa Perhamus, , Karyn Rabourn, Wil Rankinen, Kathryn Remlinger, Wendy Reffeor, Dawn Richiert, Mary Bower Russa, Gayle Schaub, Anne Sergeant, Ashley Shannon, Paul Sicilian, Andrew Spear, Kevin Strychar, Agnieszka Szarecka, Robert Talbert, Lissa Tallman, Josh Veazy, Jeff Ward, Alex Wilson, Mingyu Wu

Absent:

Ex Officio: Chris Plouff, Ed Aboufadel, Suzeanne Benet, Sonia Dalmia, Jen Drake, Paul Plotkowski, Ellen Schendel, Sherril Soman

Guests: Amy Campbell, Jennifer Cymbola, Doug Graham, Dave Huizen

The meeting was called to order at 3:00pm

Agenda Items		Discussion	Action / Decisions
1.	Approval of Agenda	The Agenda of November 5, 2021 was reviewed.	The Agenda of November 5, 2021 was approved.
2.	Approval of Minutes	The Minutes of UAS Regular meeting of October 1, 2021 were reviewed.	The Minutes of UAS Regular meeting of October 1, 2021
			were approved.
3.	Report from the Chair	Chair Ngassa reported on the Faculty Forum attendance and noted that	
		the Board of Trustees met today. He encouraged all faculty to volunteer	
		to host/moderate sessions at the Teach-In on November 10 and 11, and	
		shared the upcoming schedule and proposed agenda items. He reported	
		that the rationale voting for/against RH2025 will be posted online.	
		Discussion was heard on Title IX and the Taskforce Memo sent to	
		President Mantella.	
4.	Report from the Provost	Interim Provost Plouff reported that the Board of Trustees approved the	
		Education for Young Children program, and noted that the MASU	
		Professor of the Year (2019) Steve Mattox and the nominee for 2021	
		Erica Hamilton were recognized by MASU at the Board of Trustees	
		meeting.	
		Questions were addressed from the floor.	
5.	Report from Student	Student Senate President Mueller reported that Student Senate hosted	
	Senate President	Open Access week, and working with The Lanthorn on articles about	
		Campus Dining. Questions were addressed from the floor.	
6.	New Business	a. Bonnie Dykstra shared resources to assist students with Mental	
		Health Services. Questions addressed from the floor.	

UAS 11 05 21 Minutes FINAL Approved Decemer 10, 2021

b. Chair Ngassa shared the list of faculty members recommended for appointment as Faculty Representatives to the Online Education and Microcredential Council (OEMC) that was distributed earlier. Twoyear appointments for Krista Benson and Rick Geisel and one-year appointments for Denise Goersich and Alisha Karabimus were presented.

A <u>motion was made and seconded</u> to support the appointment of the recommended faculty members to the Online Education and Microcredential Council as presented.

c. Jennifer Cymbola presented an overview of the Affiliate Faculty Advisory Committee (AFAC) recommendations on Affiliate Faculty Evaluation Procedure that was distributed earlier. Questions were addressed from the floor.

The <u>ECS motion</u> recommending support of the AFAC recommendations on Affiliate Faculty Evaluation Procedure was voted on.

d. Amy Campbell presented a summary of the Graduate Council recommendation on Dual Level Enrollment Policy Change that was distributed earlier. Questions were addressed from the floor.

The <u>ECS Motion</u> recommending support of Graduate Council recommendation on Dual Level Enrollment Policy Change was voted on.

 e. Raymond Higbea presented a summary of the Academic Policy and Standards Committee (APSC) recommendation on Prior Learning Assessment Policy for Undergraduates that was distributed earlier.

A <u>motion was made, seconded, and approved by consensus</u> to approve a friendly amendment made during the meeting.

Questions were addressed from the floor.

The <u>ECS Motion</u> recommending support of the Academic Policy and Standards Committee (APSC) Recommendation on Prior Learning Assessment Policy for Undergraduates was voted on.

MOTION: The University Academic Senate confirms the Appointed Faculty Representatives to the Online Education and Microcredential Council as presented.

APPROVED with 1 Abstention

MOTION: The University Academic Senate supports the AFAC recommendations on Affiliate Faculty Evaluation Procedure.

APPROVED 49 Yes; 1 No; 0 Abstain

MOTION: The University Academic Senate supports the Graduate Council recommendation on Dual Level Enrollment Policy Change.

APPROVED 48 Yes; 0 No; 1 Abstain

MOTION: The University Academic Senate supports the Academic Policy and Standards Committee (APSC) Recommendation on Prior Learning Assessment Policy for Undergraduates.

APPROVED 41 Yes; 1 No; 8 Abstain

UAS 11 05 21 Draft Minutes.docx Approved

	f. Erica Hamilton presented an overview of the Online Education and Microcredential Council recommendation on Leadership and Succession Planning that was distributed earlier.	MOTION: The University Academic Senate supports the Online Education and Microcredential Council recommendation on Leadership and Succession Planning. APPROVED 50 Yes; 1 No; 0 Abstain
	The ECS Motion recommending support of the Online Education and Microcredential Council recommendation on Leadership and Succession Planning was voted on.	
	g. Ed Aboufadel presented an update from the Virus Action Team (VAT) and the Vaccine Mandate. Questions were addressed from the floor.	
h. Adjournment	The meeting adjourned at 4:51 pm	

UAS 11 05 21 Draft Minutes.docx Approved